About Costa Rica

Provinces of Costa Rica
Ready to Explore

Costa Rica's almost 20,000 square miles are divided into seven provinces: San Jose, Heredia, Alajuela, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste and Limon

All but one province has a main city with the same name except for Guanacaste which has a capital city named Liberia
San JoseHerediaAlajuelaGuanacastePuntarenasLimonCartago


San Jose — features the culturally rich and diverse national capital.

Heredia — Due north of San Jose, up to the Nicaraguan border.

Alajuela — West of Heredia, to the Nicaraguan border. Features Volcan Poás National Park.

Guanacaste — The northwest part of the country. One of the most diverse regions of the country, and the world, with cloud forests, active volcanoes, national parks and five-star beach resorts.

Puntarenas — Covers most of the Pacific coast and its lowlands, from near the most western parts of Costa Rica (due west of San Jose,) down to the Panamanian border (actually southeast of San Jose) including the Manuel Antonio national park.

Limon — The Caribbean east coast of the country. Features banana plantations, several biological reserves and national parks, and a largely Jamaican-rooted bilingual population.

Cartago — Northeast of San Jose. Home of many of the volcanoes that enrich the soil of the meseta.

Translate: Spanish